On the classification of early Tertiary Erinaceomorpha (Insectivora, Mammalia). American Museum novitates ; no. 2813

Supplemental Materials
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
New York, N.Y. : American Museum of Natural History
"Definitions are provided for three early Tertiary families of Erinaceomorpha. The family Dormaaliidae includes Dormaalius, Macrocranion, Scenopagus, Ankylodon, Crypholestes, Sespedectes, and Proterixoides. Several of these genera are traditionally known collectively as 'Adapisoricidae,' but Adapisorex is probably an erinaceid and the name Adapisoricidae is therefore unavailable for the above listed taxa. Dormaaliids are characterized by a reduction in size and complexity of the anterior premolars, a reduced, premolariform P[subscript 4], and several other dental specializations. A second family, the Amphilemuridae includes Amphilemur, Gesneropithex, Alsaticopithecus, and Pholidocercus. Amphilemurids have inflated, bunodont cheek teeth that superficially resemble primate dentitions. A third family, the Erinaceidae, includes the early Tertiary genera Litolestes, Leipsanolestes, Entomolestes, Neomatronella, Eolestes, Adapisorex, Cedrocherus, and living and fossil members of the Galericinae, Brachyericinae, and Erinaceinae. Another member of the Erinaceidae is Dartonius, proposed here as a new designation for 'Leptacodon' jepseni. Several erinaceomorphs are either too generalized in structure, too divergent, or too poorly represented to allow assignment to any of the above families. These incertae sedis taxa are Diacodon, Adunator (including Mckennatherium), Diacocherus, Litocherus, Talpavus, and Talpavoides"--P. [1].
22 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Includes bibliographical references (p. 19-22).