A review of the frog genus Lechriodus (Leptodactylidae) of New Guinea and Australia. American Museum novitates ; no. 2507

Supplemental Materials
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
New York, N.Y. : American Museum of Natural History
"Lechriodus is one of three genera of the Leptodactylidae present in new Guinea. With three species endemic in New Guinea and one in Australia, Lechriodus is the only leptodactylid genus predominantly Papuan in distribution and diversity. The present revision recognizes four species: Lechriodus aganoposis, new species; L. fletcheri (Boulenger); L. melanopyga (Doria); and L. platyceps Parker. The new species has not been mentioned in the literature. The name L. melanopyga is applied to the lowland species of the Aru Islands and New Guinea, previously known by this name as well as L. papuana and L. fletcheri (or combinations thereof). Phanerotis fletcheri papuana Roux is a junior synonym of L. melanopyga. Lechriodus fletcheri is limited in distribution to Australia. Lechriodus platyceps and L. aganoposis allopatrically share montane habitats in, respectively, the western and eastern parts of New Guinea. The species are distinguished primarily by differences in body size, presence or absence of certain digital tubercles, structure of male nuptial pads, number of skin folds on the dorsum, and pigmentation of the testes. Limited information suggests that mating calls also differ"--P. [1].
41 p. : ill., map ; 24 cm.
Includes bibliographical references (p. 38-41).